This type of scam, also known as screen-mirroring fraud, typically begins with an out-of-the-blue phone call from fraudsters claiming that your account is at risk. They may try to move the conversation to a video call on FaceTime or WhatsApp, where you can share your screen in a few clicks.
WhatsApp screen-sharing scams
WhatsApp launched its screen-sharing feature in 2023 so that users can share documents and photos on video calls, as they do on video-conferencing apps such as Google Meet and Zoom. But this feature has also turned the heads of scammers.
Which? has received a steady stream of reports of WhatsApp screen-sharing scams this year. A common approach is for a scam caller to tell you suspicious activity has been detected, hoping to create panic before offering reassurance that they can help. They may even pass you between ‘departments’ to seem more authoritative.
Two men claiming to be FCA inspectors contacted William directly on WhatsApp. They warned him that his phone had been infected with viruses and instructed him to share his screen. The scammers kept him on the phone for 20 hours spread over three days, during which time they stole more than £27,000, including six iPhone and iPad purchases.
‘The screen on my phone said FCA, and they told me to press a button to start recording. These men were very professional and said they were in contact with the police and that they thought someone, a bank employee, was spreading this virus. They told me to speak to no one – not family or friends.'
Find out more:5 screen-sharing tactics
Fake security alerts Spoofed logos and numbers Pressure, urgency and secrecyAny screen-sharing tool will do Tricks to cash outWhat is Meta doing?
If a user who isn’t saved in your contacts tries to get in touch, Meta will ask if you want to block or report them. It also shows context cards, which tell you that this is a new contact, whether you have groups in common, and the country the person is messaging from. Even if you message back, this context will stay around at the top of the chat to keep you informed.
All images sent by unknown contacts are blurred by default, and you can choose to silence all calls from unknown numbers. You can also block or report a contact to WhatsApp at any time.
Because scammers often try to pressure people into sending money or clicking on malicious links, links from unknown senders are disabled until you choose to engage with them.
source https://www.which.co.uk/news/article/beware-whatsapp-screen-sharing-scams-ak3d32L0Zd5D